As of 20/03/2013 VOSA are introducing a large number of changes to the MOT test (Directive 2010/48/EU). Some of the new testable components for class 4 vehicles (covers most passenger cars) are listed below. There are various date breaks and criteria associated with these testable components, they may not all apply to all vehicles.  

  • Headlamp levelling and cleaning devices when fitted for HID or LED headlamps.
  • Main beam “tell tale” lamp.
  • Battery security (including batteries for electric or hybrid vehicles).
  • Electrical wiring and connectors.
  • Trailer electrical socket security and damage (if fitted)
  • Operation of 13pin trailer electrical sockets using an approved trailer socket tester.
  • Operation of the steering lock (where fitted) including a malfunction
  • Warning in respect of an electronic steering lock.
  • Electronic power steering malfunction indicator lamp.
  • Electronic parking brake control and malfunction indicator lamp.
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC, ESP, DSC etc) components, and malfunction indicator lamp.
  • Brake fluid warning lamp illuminated or inoperative.
  • Tyre pressure monitoring systems (TPMS).
  • SRS components including airbags, seat belt pre-tensioners, seat belt load limiters and SRS malfunction indicator lamp.
  • Engine mountings.
  • Speedometer.
  • Indirect vision devices (where they replace obligatory mirrors).
Share This